The Robins have come and I’m itching to build a greenhouse.

And bare ground has appeared (my septic system thaws first). The robins are picking it over but I don’t know if you can see them. There are maybe a dozen in the picture. I can’t see them.

20170410_11551320-20copy

This is the first day it has gone above 50 degrees. Snow was still 2 feet deep last week. And you could walk on it.  It’s knee death now, even in snowshoes.  I’m impatient. I’ve been clearing ground for the greenhouse. Hopefully the rest will go quickly.

Here’s the spot. Long way to go.  Looking west from the woodshed, through the length of the greenhouse.

20170407_12125720-20copy

I got one of those tunnels for my birthday last year. In figuring all the angles for exposure, I realized the back half is a waste. It will get no sun in the winter. Not through the roof anyway.

I had this realization while sitting in my new wood shed taking the sun last fall. It’s a pole barn and has no walls. Here it is from inside the greenhouse, looking SE. Most invisible greenhouse ever.

20170407_13493120-20copy

The sun is below the pitch of the roof all winter so it shines straight through. If I ran the roof all the way to the ground and  put plastic on the three sides, I’d have 1050 sq ft (30×35) of sunlit floor with no vulnerable plastic roof.

I’ve decided to build another shed like it only 48ft long, cut the green house in half length wise, and hang it off of the front.  That is, potentially, 45x 48, or 2,160 sq feet. It depends on how much roofing I can scrounge up. It will at least be 48x 30= 1440.  I’ve got to close it all in, too

The green house in tunnel form is 17x 24, or 408 sq ft.

Which would almost double my garden space, except I will probably have to empty them all to fill the greenhouse.  I’ve got about 3,000 sq ft of laboriously compost created soil made over the last 10 yrs. Some of it deeper than others..  Maine hasn’t got much laying around.

The idea is a raised bed, hugelkulture greenhouse on a massive scale.

 

About mobiuswolf

Aspiring writer of Zombie fiction.
This entry was posted in gardening, greenhouse, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

